@JenKronstain - Twitter · Change: Greasing the Gears · Change: Stepping In It · Home · Media

I cut the cable – and I like it

I’ve debated this move for months and months, eliminating my cable bundle and going completely mobile. This week, I did – and to be honest, I wish I’d done so sooner.

My biggest concern, of course, was the quality of the experience – would the video render well? Would my pages load in good time? Would my incessant habit of having 12 windows open at a time cause the pipeline to choke?

Truth is … none of that happened. In fact, I think the quality on my mobile is better than what I had on my router. I say this with the caveat that I am not a technician or an expert in broadband – I learn quickly and do what I need to do to make things work. But I have to say – all of my fears were unfounded.

I love not being stuck in the TV networks’ structure. I get my breaking news streams from various sources – Morning Joe (and all of MSNBC), FOX, CNN, etc. And the local news I’m interested in … it’s streamed on the station’s website – live. Maybe I won’t see The Good Wife on the Sunday it runs – but in all honesty, I wasn’t watching it on Sundays before this.

New access to old shows has been fun, too – #ArrestedDevelopment, #Firefly, #FridayNightLights.

In the summer, I watch baseball most evenings, so I’ll get the MLB package on the Internet and an antenna to access local channels on my TV – I will by no means be deprived.

Like most things in life, everything comes back to The Cat in the Hat. The great Dr. Seuss once wrote “I would not like them here or there. I would not like them anywhere. I do not like green eggs and ham. I do not like them Sam I Am.”

And we all know how that turned out.

Leave a Reply

