@JenKronstain - Twitter · Media · Work

Change

Writing and reading about change is quite boring – which begs the question, “why am I writing about it?”

Because I hope you find, as I have, that – as challenging as it can be – there is humor in it, subtle humor, the kind that may not be apparent in the moment but hits you in the head later.

It’s only when we begin implementing change that the story gets interesting.

Change isn’t rocket science. I’ve changed careers, lived in five states, paid my way to conferences when I couldn’t get the funding and taught myself how to work with technology. I’ve done some real-life hyper-kinetic changing – sometimes by necessity, sometimes by choice, but (nearly) always with a sense of humor.

Nearly.

I should be clear from the start: My point of view is of experience, not of science. I’m practiced at changing, but I’m not a licensed therapist – not even close.  I’m a 39-year-old professional in an industry that is nothing like it was when I entered it – I’ve been lucky enough to keep up with it. The goal here: To use my experiences as a backdrop to illustrate ways you can approach and implement changes in your life.

A bit about how this column should be considered: It’s not an “advice” column – it’s an “action” column. When advice is given, it is simply an exchange in dialogue – little attention is given to implementation. What I’m aiming to do here is build community – and I’ll be right there with you the whole time.

With that, here’s what we’ll cover:

Conditioning for Change – Like highly trained athletes who work their bodies out each and every day, we need to prepare our minds (and hearts) for constant change. That’s not easy. We like to think about things staying the same, or “how things used to be.” The fact is … in many facets of our lives, things aren’t what they used to be. We need to be ready to face it at all times.

Greasing the Gears: The Workplace – Nothing has changed more in the past decade than the workplace. Whether you’ve been on the wrong side of a layoff or are doing the job of three people in your office, it’s likely that you’re dealing with some sort of change or challenge. So settle into that cubicle …

Bad-Habit Rehab: Making Small Changes – We all have bad habits or small things we do that we know are wrong but we don’t stop doing them. Maybe it’s letting the mail pile up in your home office, or biting your fingernails. Maybe you leave the garbage in the can long enough that it smells bad, or perhaps you accumulate too much clutter in your house. Here, we’ll make the tweaks you’ve been meaning to make – and make them stick.

Living Lessons: Change in Our World – We don’t live in a vacuum. Communities and individuals evolve. Here, we’ll look at how change is happening in our world and how those lessons apply to our own surroundings.

Stepping in it: When It’s Just All Too Much – Yes, change is important – but it’s also funny, which is the focus here. Anytime you are implementing some sort of change, you’re treading new ground, you’re allowing yourself to make mistakes. Naturally, you’re prone to “stepping in it.” Here, we’ll examine “best practices” in change – with tongue planted firmly in cheek.

‘Til next time, remember … nothing happens until you do something. (And if anyone has a better tagline for this, I’m all ears.)

Up Next – Identifying Goals for 2011 (Including My Own): The One and Only Time We Do This.

June 8, 2011 – Editor’s Note: This effort … lost in the shuffle, you might say. Getting back to it. 🙂 Thanks. The Management

Leave a Reply

